About Aceh

About Aceh


Aceh Province is located at the northern tip of Sumatra Island and is the westernmost and northernmost province in Indonesia. Aceh Province is bordered by North Sumatra Province in the south, the Indonesian Ocean in the west, the Malacca Strait in the east, and the Bay of Bengal in the north.

The total area of Aceh Province reaches 72,034.87 square kilometers with 78.8% of it being land. It contains 119 islands, 73 major rivers, and 35 mountains. Aceh Province consists of 18 regencies and 5 cities with the capital city being Banda Aceh and several other main cities, including Lhokseumawe, Meulaboh, Langsa, Sigli, Bireun, and Sabang.

Read more: About Aceh - General | Invest in Aceh (


In the last two decades, the economic growth of Aceh Province has been recorded to be volatile and lower than the national one. This condition is caused by several phenomena that have a major impact on the economy, namely prolonged conflicts, depletion of natural gas (SDA) reserves, as well as earthquakes and tsunamis. Aceh's growth has only started to recover after the earthquake and tsunami with the Government's extraordinary reconstruction efforts.

In 2019, the economy of Aceh Province in 2019 grew by 4.15%, slowing down compared to 2018 which grew by 4.61%. Gross Regional Domestic Product (GDP) at current prices was recorded at Rp. 164.21 trillion (without oil and gas of Rp. 158.55 trillion) with GRDP per capita of Rp. 30.70 million (without oil and gas of Rp. 29.64 million).

The economic structure of Aceh Province is still dominated by the agriculture, forestry and fishery sectors at 29.54%, followed by trade (15.51%), government administration (10.25%), and construction (9.62%). Some of Aceh's leading commodities include coffee, patchouli, nutmeg, cloves, pepper, rattan, rice, and seafood (fishery).


Aceh Province has enormous potential in the tourism sector, both natural, religious, cultural, historical, and culinary tourism. There are at least 797 tourist attractions as well as 774 sites and cultural heritage spread across 23 regencies/cities throughout Aceh Province. Some of the attractions that are frequently visited by both foreign and domestic tourists in Aceh are the Baiturrahman Grand Mosque, the Tsunami Museum, Apung PLTD, and Putroe Phang Park in Banda Aceh City, Lampuuk Beach, Lhoknga Beach, and Jantho Nature Reserve in Kab. Aceh Besar, Gunung Leuser National Park in Kab. Southeast Aceh, the Marine Park in the City of Sabang, and the Marine Park in the Banyak Islands, Kab. Aceh Singkil.

To visit these various tourist destinations, various modes of transportation are available, both land, sea and air. Even for the mode of air transportation, international flights are available from Penang, Kuala Lumpur, and Jeddah. With this attractiveness and ease of access, it is not surprising that the number of tourists visiting Aceh continues to increase from year to year. In 2019, tourist visits to Aceh Province are estimated to reach 3 million people, an increase from 2018 which reached 2.5 million people.

Seeing the huge potential of the tourism sector, in recent years the Aceh Government has paid great attention to the tourism sector so that in the future this sector can become one of the economic supports for the Aceh Province. In fact, one of the current flagship programs of the Aceh Provincial Government is the development of the tourism sector combined with the development of community creative businesses.


In the Aceh Province, there are 2 (two) Bank Indonesia Representative Offices, namely the Aceh Province Bank Indonesia Representative Office domiciled in Banda Aceh City and the Lhokseumawe Bank Indonesia Representative Office located in Lhokseumawe City. The Bank Indonesia Representative Office for Aceh Province is the coordinator of all Bank Indonesia Representative Offices in the Aceh Province which has a working area of ??13 (thirteen) districts/cities, namely Banda Aceh City, Sabang City, Kab. Aceh Besar, Kab. Pidie, Kab. Pidie Jaya, Kab. Simeulu, Kab. Aceh Singkil, Kab. Aceh Jaya, Kab. Nagan Raya, Kab. West Aceh, Kab. Southwest Aceh, Kab. South Aceh, and Kab. Subulussalam. Meanwhile, 10 (ten) other regencies/cities become the working areas of the Lhokseumawe Bank Indonesia Representative Office, namely Lhokseumawe City, Kab. Aceh Tamiang, Kab. Central Aceh, Kab. Southeast Aceh, Kab. East Aceh, Kab. North Aceh, Kab. Really Merry, Kab. Bireuen, Kab. Gayo Lues, and Langsa City.

Read more: About Aceh - General | Invest in Aceh (

share this pages
Starting Invest in Aceh

These investment incentives and scheme is specifically designed to encourage potential investors and thus reap the positive effects of foreign direct investments (FDI).

Contact Us